Open Site Navigation

Warzone Season 3 Preview: What's Next?

Call of Duty: Warzone has quickly become one of the biggest games in esports and it’s only on Season 2.


A new season is about to begin, bringing major changes to the battle royale’s map, story, and weapons. And there’s even an event to look forward to. Here’s everything we know about Season 3 before it drops.


When is Season 2 Ending?


Call of Duty: Warzone Season 2 ends today, April 21. This was recently confirmed by Call of Duty’s official Twitter, although fans already speculated this date due to it being the reset date for the Battle Pass.


While Season 2’s “end is near,” players are still unclear what the end of Season 2 will actually bring. Will the map completely disappear? Will the meta completely change?


When Does Season 3 Begin?


Fans have another official tweet to thank for this confirmation: Season 3 will officially drop April 22. That’s just a day away.



According to the tweet, players can expect something to happen between noon and 4 PM PST today. At some point during that time, Activision will be dropping another blog post about Season 3. That means something may happen within the game as well, but nobody is quite sure yet.


After that, Warzone players will have to wait until April 22 for Season 3 to officially begin. Something will be happening early morning tomorrow, most likely a transition between the two seasons. There will be something happening for an hour tomorrow that most likely kicks off Season 3. Finally.


What Is The Nuke Event?


This is the event that will kick off Season 3, according to leaks. Activision has not confirmed this, but expect it sometime today prior to Season 3’s launch.


The official Season 3 blog describes the event as: “The situation in Verdansk has hit a critical level. It seems the combat zone has become too dangerous for even a Tier 1 Operator to survive in. Is a conflagration imminent? The answer is still unknown, though it is recommended you clear your schedule for the week and ready yourself for a crescendo of utter chaos within the Warzone. Be certain you’re available for Operation Rapid Sunder throughout Wednesday, April 21 and beyond.”


Currently, players are not sure what the actual event entails beyond this post. Leaks and speculation point to it taking place in the 1980s but Activision hasn’t said anything official as of yet.


Activision did give an official time, however. It’s today, April 21. Check it out below:


12:00 PM PT

2:00 PM CT

3:00 PM ET

8:00 PM BST (UK)

9:00 PM CEST (Europe)

5:00 AM AEST (Australia – April 22)


Packages have been sent to influencers and streamers, including a note that reads: “Once the hostile reach here, we levee a guess that Verdansk is all but gone to the damned.” Fans will most likely be able to watch an abundance of Call of Duty streamers play the event live. So keep an eye on big-name streamers for more information.


What Is The Hunt for Adler?


Season 3 will introduce a limited-time even called Hunt for Adler. This event will have in-game challenges within Warzone and Black Ops Cold War.


Russell Adler is in the Golden Triangle and Frank Woods and his strike team have to find him. Players will be given intel challenges throughout the mission, offering a variety of rewards. This includes weapon charms and a new operator skin. Players can even unlock a Russell Adler skin if they complete every challenge during this event.


Season 3 Brings New Weapons


On Call of Duty’s official site, developers shared a blog post all about the new weapons that are coming to Warzone. These weapons will also be found in Black Ops Cold War. Here are the weapons:


  • PPSh-14 (SMG) - Launch (Battle Pass Tier 15)

  • Swiss K31 (Sniper) - Launch

  • Ballistic Knife (Melee) - Launch

  • CARV.2 (Tactical Rifle) - Mid-season

  • AMP63 (Pistol) - Mid-season

  • Baseball Bat (Melee) - Mid-season


New weapons are definitely welcomed in Warzone. Even though the game has an abundance of weapons, two guns have all but taken over the meta. Despite some recent nerfs, these two weapons have been seen as a lot more powerful than the rest, making the game feel very unbalanced and stale for many streamers and pro players.


Season 3 Map Changes


There are some big rumors surrounding a new map coming to Warzone in Season 3. Data mining and leakers suggest that the map will be based in the Ural mountains. Meanwhile, the current map, Verdansk, will be overrun with zombies and then the Nuke Event mentioned above will destroy it completely. This will introduce the new map, an allegedly larger location based in Ural.


Despite the event being so close, Activision has done a great job keeping a lot of information about Season 3 (and the events leading up to it) pretty secret. But fans can expect to find out more about the map, events, and any other updates in the next few hours.